We are so happy with the response to our new CF Yogi Book Club! Our August host will be Colleen Lewis, who has selected Waking by Matthew Sanford as this month’s group read. This month we’re meeting on Saturday mornings — because who doesn’t love curling up with a good book and some friends to start the weekend? Join us on Saturdays at 8 AM PDT / 9 AM MDT / 10 AM CDT / 11 AM EDT to discuss the book and make some new friends! 

 

About this month’s pick

Waking is a memoir about Matthew Sanford’s life after a traumatic accident left him paralyzed from the chest down at age 13. Per the cover blurb, “This pivotal event set Matt on a lifelong journey, from his intensive care experiences at the Mayo Clinic to becoming a paralyzed yoga teacher and founder of a nonprofit organization. Forced to explore what it truly means to live in a body, he emerges with an entirely new view of being a ‘whole’ person.”


Links to this title:

INDIEBOUND On Indiebound you can order from local independent bookstore. May we suggest you take a look of this list of Black-owned independent bookstores and find one you’d like to support with your purchase?

AMAZON If you decide to buy from Amazon (e.g. you prefer Kindle format) please click the link from this page to use our referral link… 100% of affiliate proceeds will be donated to CF Yogi.

P.S. We know some of you had a tough time getting your hands on last month’s pick, The Vanishing Half, as it was a breathtakingly popular new release. This  month’s pick has been out a while, so hopefully it will be easier to track down! 


Grab a cup of tea (or beverage of choice), a copy of the book, and find a comfy place to read! Then meet us on Saturday mornings August 1-29 at 8 AM Pacific / 11 AM Eastern for a group conversation! Week 1 will be mostly meet-and-greet as we get to know each other better, and then each week to follow we’ll talk about our observations from the book.

Ready to join us for book club?! 📚 Register below!